Schemes ruled on in United States
Agape World Inc. bridge loan investmentsUnited States · 2005 to January 2009, according to the SEC · losses The SEC described a $415 million scheme and said Cosmo lost $80 million trading futures in personal accounts.Bernard L. Madoff Investment Securities (Madoff investment advisory business)United States · To December 2008 (start date not stated in the sources reviewed) · losses The SEC said in December 2008 that the alleged fraud totalled $50 billion, based on Madoff's own estimate. The court ordered forfeiture of $170.799 billion, described by prosecutors as the proceeds of and property involved in the crimes.Capitol Investments USA grocery distribution investmentsUnited States · January 2005 to November 2009, according to the FBI · losses The FBI said about $930 million was solicited, that Capitol owed more than $100 million to investors when it went bankrupt in November 2009, and that more than $35 million of investor funds were used for Shapiro's personal benefit.DC Solar mobile solar generatorsUnited States · To 2018 (sources reviewed do not give an exact start) · losses The US Attorney's Office said investors were defrauded of about $1 billion.EminiFXUnited States · Not stated in the sources reviewed · losses The US Attorney's Office said Alexandre took over $248 million from investors.Petters Company Inc. (PCI) note financingUnited States · To 2008 (the FBI release describes the scheme up to 2008) · losses The FBI described a scheme of about $3.7 billion. The Star Tribune reported $1.9 billion in cash taken.Rothstein Rosenfeldt Adler settlement and loan investmentsUnited States · To 2009 (sources reviewed do not give a start year) · losses The FBI said the scheme obtained approximately $1.2 billion from investors.Securities Exchange Company (postal reply coupon scheme)United States · December 1919 to August 1920, according to Smithsonian magazine · losses Smithsonian magazine estimated he took in about $15 million in eight months in 1920.Trans Continental airline investments and Employee Investment Savings AccountsUnited States · To 2007 (sources reviewed do not give a start date) · losses The US Attorney's Office estimated losses from the three schemes at over $300 million. CBS News reported that prosecutors put about $200 million on individuals and $100 million on banks.Woodbridge Group of Companies first position commercial mortgage notesUnited States · About July 2012 to December 2017, according to the US Attorney's Office · losses The US Attorney's Office said investors put in more than $1.29 billion, including about $400 million of retirement savings.ZeekRewards (Rex Venture Group)United States · January 2011 to August 2012, according to the SEC · losses The SEC described a $600 million scheme in 2012. The Justice Department later described a $900 million Internet Ponzi scheme and said that by August 2012 the conspirators claimed investments worth nearly $3 billion but had only $340 million available.